Today, I woke up early (not on purpose) and finished a book I’d been reading. That made me feel good. Then I went for a nap without setting my alarm because I had nothing planned for today other than to try to get some rest since sleep is something I never seem to get enough of, either because my brain is on too much or my (ugh) downstairs neighbour decides to bang on the ceiling at 4:30 a.m.. My nap lasted about 3 hours. I woke up rested and felt so good, I just laid there, staring at the nearly barren tree outside my window. There’s one particular leaf that continues to cling to the tree, even though we’ve already had more than one big snowfall (all melted now — but I’m sure more to come!). When I have a moment of quietude, I often stare at that particular leaf. I can’t tell if it’s super stubborn, stuck on by squirrel and/or raccoon spit (both of which I see in that tree at least once a dance), or perhaps just staying because it believes that its friends will return beside it on the branch one day. Maybe it knows the fate of its brethren and doesn’t want to become compost. I love that leaf, whatever its reasons for holding on. It’s a constant when my world is topsy-turvy. It’s held on through rainstorms, crazy windstorms, and more recently, snowstorms. I like to think it loves the tree as much as I do, so it holds on tight.

My tiny victories for today:

  1. took a long, restorative nap (take that, nasty neighbour!).
  2. worked on my story idea (mostly daydreaming, added some words) and worked on another story idea that’s been in my head for 2+ years.
  3. finished reading two books.
  4. figured out how to change the time zone on this blog (which may not be a big deal to some, but it’d been on my To Do list for nearly two weeks, so woo!)

Even though my word count doesn’t reflect it, as far as days off are concerned, today was A+.

WordacCountability Tally Jan. 15:

Fiction: 310
Short Stories: 0
Nonfiction: 0
Blogging: 376
Total: 686
Grand Total: 6,831

Leave a Reply

