Today was another write-off for writing. A migraine threatened to take over my entire day plus two days of fallout, so I took measures to make sure it didn’t. It worked! But that meant that I didn’t open up my computer or even my notebook for the entire day. Sometimes self-care is more important than everything else. I did manage to have a nice, long bath, a luxury I rarely have time in which to indulge. I even set up candles and read part of a romance novel. Also added Epsom salts to help with the muscle tension leftovers from the near-migraine. I’m feeling much better now, but damn, that was too close. I couldn’t afford to call in sick today, but as I saw it, one day of sick vs. three days of sick/fallout (which is often worse than the migraine itself, since I usually just sleep that off, whereas I’m supposed to be “normal” during the fallout, which I never am). And so, giving myself the treat of a bath and sleeping most of the day away has left me here at midnight, wide awake and hoping I’ll be able to convince myself to get to bed soonish. I don’t work tomorrow, but I have a screenwriting workshop in the afternoon and I’m going to see Hidden Figures at night, so I need to be at least semi-conscious for those activities.

One thing I was able to do was watch the movie Inside Out. Yes, I know it’s older, but I’d never watched it. And it’s so well done! It’s now one of my favourite Disney films. And the end credits with the emotions of the dog and then the cat: perfect! Since I wasn’t feeling great, it was exactly what I needed to see. And cry over. I’m generally a robot where movies are concerned, but A Monster Calls and now Inside Out have both got to me. Am I becoming slightly human?! That’s a question I’ll ask myself as I try to get some sleep tonight. Hope you all managed to get through Blue Monday without anything upsetting you. Or if it did, I hope you had a good cry to get it out.

More words tomorrow…

 

WordacCountability Tally Jan. 16:

Fiction: 0
Short Stories: 0
Nonfiction: 0
Blogging: 393
Total: 393
Grand Total: 7,224

 

Leave a Reply

