The other night, I went to type out a blog post and work on a story and my computer decided it was time to do updates. Forced updates. Happens at least once a week. I don’t really get it since I leave my computer on all the time. Why doesn’t it update when I’m not currently using it? But it never does. It always waits until I’m right in front of it, about to do something, and then !@#$ updates. Anyway, as I was waiting for it to update, I fell asleep. And not the kind of sleep where I wake up in an hour. No, I fell asleep for the whole night. Woke up in the morning with the light on, all that. Knocked right out. It’s part of the fallout from a near-migraine this week, I’m sure, but frustrating because I really had intended to at least work on something. Stupid !@#$ updates! Oh well. It’s all a lesson or something, right?

Today I had someone ask me at work if I had a twin. No, no twinsies. She said the other person works with me. She even came back to me to say that no, the other person wasn’t me (duh) but looked very similar and was wearing a grey sweater while I was wearing black. I thought it was really funny that she had to go out of her way to come back to tell me this. So I spent the rest of the afternoon wondering who it could be, watching out for someone who looks like me but in a grey sweater. No one came by the desk where I was working, though, so I may never know who she meant. Then again, don’t bad things happen if you meet your doppelganger? Maybe it’s for the best I didn’t figure it out.

Tomorrow, I start working at a trade show for the week. It will be very busy and if it’s at all like last year, lots of fun. I like the energy of a busy show. Keeps me on my toes and makes time go by, even when the days are long. As I knew going in to January, I’m not sure how much writing I’ll get done, but I’ll try to not crash every night like I did last night. I’m glad I have a couple of different projects I can focus on fleshing out since I’m not sure how many “new” ideas will happen when I’m so busy. Guess we’ll see what this week brings.

Also, in good news, my current contract for work (not at the trade show) was extended for a week with another possible extension coming, so at least there’s that. Too bad I had to send the paperwork back twice because it’s been wrong both times. My boss assures me they’ll get it right the third time around. We’ll see what I get back next week!

 

WordacCountability Tally Jan. 20:

Fiction: 210
Short Stories: 0
Nonfiction: 0
Blogging: 513
Total: 723
Grand Total: 9,560

 

 

Leave a Reply

