I wrote a blog post at 4 a.m. but didn’t post it, and now I’m glad since it got a little more personal than I would have preferred. Not about myself but about a good friend of mine, and I’d rather not turn him against me by posting too much about him. So it’s good that, despite my insomniafied brain keeping me awake, at least it stopped me from posting anything potentially damaging to my friendship.

I had a good, but tiring, weekend, and today was my day off. I wasn’t planning on doing anything because I really needed time to decompress after working another crazy trade show (possibly my last for the year, unless I can find work through a different source). Waking up at 3:30 a.m. wasn’t part of the plan of my day off, but at least it meant I didn’t have to go to work today so I could just be awake for a couple of hours, thinking and writing about my day yesterday, then sleep for a couple of hours, without the fear of “I can’t function without getting more sleep!” that plagues my life so often. I was able to nap and let my mind drift, not putting any pressure on myself to accomplish anything other than relaxation and self-care. But then an idea started forming in my mind. It sounded like a story. A decent story. I let my mind wander all over it, from beginning to end, and realized it’s actually a decent story, with a strong female protagonist (my fave!) and magic and potential to become a trilogy. WHAT IS THIS? I said to myself, completely gobsmacked because usually my story ideas only hit me when I’m on the run without the luxury of time to actually think them through let alone take three pages of notes down about the ideas. I considered it a beautiful gift from my muse and wrote down as much as I could. I don’t have character names or even a title yet, but I do have a story arc and plot points and setting already laid out for me. WHAT IS THIS? I’m still not sure, but I’ll definitely be fluffing it out in the coming weeks, trying to see where it takes me. My muse done good this time, giving me something to play with when I have time to play! Now I just need to rebuild the writing habits I was starting to form in January and I’m all set!

 

WordacCountability Tally February 20:

Fiction: 1,736
Short Stories: 0
Nonfiction: 0
Blogging: 1,184
Total: 2,920
Grand Total: 16,767

2 thoughts on “WHAT IS THIS?

    1. Thanks, Ben! Sorry for the late response. I’m a terrible blogger, but attempting to improve.

      And yes, I agree, I love when a story starts to come together in my head! The struggle now is getting it down on paper before something else distracts me. Why is everything else always so shiny?!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

