I find it really interesting that my current series of short stories is Sci Fi romance. I don’t think I’ve ever read a Sci Fi romance story or book, and yet, here I am, writing a series of shorts set on a spaceport. I know it’s a never-say-never thing, but I can honestly say I’d never have expected this to invade my psyche like it has. I think about these characters and the world I’ve been building all the time. It’s a fun set of stories, and I’m enjoying it, but when I take a moment to think about it, I never woulda guessed it. But the fact that I wrote 1,078 words in that world today proves that it’s sticking in my head. This makes me very happy. I’m not writing 10K words a day, but over 1K is nothing to sneeze at!

On a related note: does anyone have any recommendations of humourous Sci Fi romance stories I should read? I feel like I’m out of my depth. Even though a story is a story, I’m not used to so much world-building to establish the setting and I want to compare my story to something else out there, should it even exist (which I’m sure it does, but I’m just not aware of it). If nothing comes to mind, that’s all right. I will continue to play around with this world until it becomes my second home.

 

WordacCountability Tally March 17:

Fiction: 0
Short Stories: 1,078
Nonfiction: 0
Blogging: 259
Total: 1,337
Grand Total: 22,243

Leave a Reply

