I told the friend I saw last night about the story inspired by the friend I saw the night before. She then asked if she could draw the characters I’d described to her. I told her that’d be fine, which made me laugh because just that morning I’d been thinking, “Oh no, what happens if someone decides to write fanfic in my universe?!” and here she was, wanting to draw pictures of it. But somehow it’s ok when a friend wants to get involved in my wacky little universe. Flattering. So why wouldn’t it be flattering if someone else ran with fanfic in that universe? It’s a question I’ll be asking myself until I have a full answer. I know part of the answer is that I’m enjoying writing my own stories and I’m not wanting it to go someplace unseemly, as these things often do when unleashed. Thankfully, at this point, my stories are mostly leashed, but wagging their tails at friendlies, allowing their ears to be scratched, knowing they’ll be appreciated when they’re fully realized/completed/edited/allowed to roam free.

As I’m writing these stories and giggling to myself, I’m wondering if Douglas Adams or Christopher Moore giggled to themselves as they wrote The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy or Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal. Not that I think my stories are anywhere near that level of funny or fantastic, but I am curious if I’m the odd woman out with my amusement as I’m writing. I remember attending an event with an author who kept giggling as he told a story about how he came to write one of his novels. His giddiness was infectious, and even though I’d never read the work he was talking about, I thought to myself, “If he enjoyed writing it this much, I’m sure I’d enjoy reading it!” Now I’m completely blanking on the author (all I remember was he was wearing a kilt) and I never did get around to reading that book, but as soon as I recall these minor/major details, I’ll be adding that book to my TBR list and moving it up quite high because even remembering his reaction is making me laugh out loud.

For now, I’m amused that my friend already wants to do fan art for a story that’s still in its infancy. It’s still not entirely sure what it’s going to be, other than funny romantic sci fi. But in its current incarnation, it’s far too short and unpolished to be anything other than an amusing anecdote that the story isn’t even fully realized yet is already garnering fan art! If that’s not the sign of a bestseller, I don’t know what is.

P.S. I’m going to post my second writing book review tomorrow. It’s not for the book I’m currently reading, which is my first book I’m reading by the much-talked-about Chris Fox. That review will likely appear next week. Tomorrow’s writing book review will be by a famous Canadian author, someone else I’ve never read but figured I could learn a thing or two from her compiled wisdom. Until tomorrow…

WordacCountability Tally March 29:

Fiction: 0
Short Stories: 0
Nonfiction: 0
Blogging: 541
Total: 541
Grand Total: 26,029

 

Leave a Reply

