It’s Friday night and I spent my evening working, then grocery shopping, and then doing a couple of writing sprints on Twitter with @frinightwrites and #writeclub. Always a good way to start off a weekend by playing with words! This Friday Night Writes thing is fairly new to me and I think it’s brilliant. The premise is that you write for 30 minutes and then have a 10 minute break in between, where you can refuel, surf, or do whatever you need to do in order to come back and write some more. And the fun part is that it’s with other writers, so you can check in with each other about writing, snacks, or anything else that might strike your fancy. I just like seeing those 975 down below here. And it’s all about love and tree ents. Because that’s what Friday nights are for: creativity and fictional characters. Right?

I still have no idea why my brain loves these sci fi love stories so much. They’re weird. But they are funny (to me, at least) and fun to write. And they’re a great way to burn off the weird thoughts that run through my head like little anarchist tree ents that want to get up and walk away at a moment’s notice. One of these days I’m going to have to figure out exactly what I’m going to do with all of these stories. But for now, I’m enjoying writing them, and pleasantly surprised when one of my previously written about characters has a walk-on role in my newest story. It’s almost like these weird characters are becoming real. Hm…

 

WordacCountability Tally March 31:

Fiction: 0
Short Stories: 975
Nonfiction: 0
Blogging: 292
Total: 1,267
Grand Total: 27,817

Leave a Reply

