I realized today that I didn’t write a blog post yesterday other than posting about Tracy’s book (get your free copy here until April 5th!). Oops! Complete oversight since I was too busy trying to figure out what to do with all the stuff in my freezer. Realizing some of the food in there might be from the last Ice Age, I spent a good chunk of yesterday sorting through the edibles from the inedibles, and eating some of the former while trying to figure out what to do with the latter (raccoons are already out and about, making garbage runs a little more dangerous than I’d like). Spring cleaning feels like a natural thing to do. I’ve been getting rid of stuff for a week or two already, and every little bit I get rid of seems to clear a bit of room not only in my physical space but my mental space, as well. Go figure! So, I posted my query about Medium post first, to keep it separate from whatever this post is about, and I’m counting those words down below.

Since it’s April, which I believe is International Poetry Month, I’m writing a poem every day based on the prompts by Robert Lee’s Brewer’s Poetic Asides blog. I don’t post my poems online because I always wonder if I’ll want to publish them elsewhere in the future, and publication anywhere (including my own blogs!) means I no longer have first publication rights, something that many publishers require, although occasionally there are secondary markets, but they are harder to find. Not that the poems I’m writing are fantastic or anything, but I often take pieces of what I’ve written and add them to other pieces that eventually get published, so I’m wary of posting things online for no compensation. Mind you, poetry generally doesn’t pay all that much, so I’m not entirely sure why I’m so protective. Something I’ll have to examine in the future when I have my actual website up and running.

My totals below are for both yesterday and today because, well, freezer cleanout meant I forgot to write a blog. Sad excuse, I know, but at least I wrote some words before that! Adding the words from my poems to Nonfiction because they don’t really fit anywhere else.

 

WordacCountability Tally April 1 & 2:

Fiction: 0
Short Stories: 0 (but an idea is percolating!)
Nonfiction: 362
Blogging: 696
Total: 1,058
Grand Total: 28,875

Leave a Reply

